Squirrel Buster Plus vs Yankee Flipper vs Absolute II

The Squirrel Buster Plus closes its ports with no battery and comes apart by hand; the Yankee Flipper spins squirrels off but needs charging; the Absolute II holds the most, 8 quarts, and comes with a pole.

Side by side

Squirrel Buster Plus compared with Yankee Flipper Squirrel-Proof Bird Feeder YF-M compared with Absolute II; rows where they differ are marked
DetailSquirrel Buster PlusYankee Flipper Squirrel-Proof Bird Feeder YF-MAbsolute II
CapacityDiffers5.1 lb5 lb8 qt
FoodDiffersBlack oil sunflowerBlack-oil sunflower or mixed seedSafflower seed or mixed blends
MountHangerNot statedPole and hanger
CleaningDiffersComes apart without toolsLift-off lid and wide-mouth reservoirRoof swings upward for one-handed cleaning or filling
SquirrelsResistant designResistant designResistant design
WarrantyLimited lifetimeLifetime, see termsNot stated

From each maker’s pages; fees with the date in the membership table. Open these in the comparison tool to add purchase options or other models.

All feeders to consider

3 options for different spaces and routines. About retailer links.

How each stops squirrels

The Squirrel Buster Plus closes its ports when a squirrel’s weight pulls the shroud down, and the spring adjusts for heavier birds. The Yankee Flipper’s motor spins the perch ring under a squirrel. The Absolute II’s perches drop shut under heavy weight.

Room, power and cleaning

Brome asks for 18 inches of clearance; Droll Yankees says to hang the Flipper 4 ft up and 8 ft from jump-off points, and it needs recharging. The Absolute II holds the most, 8 quarts, and comes with a pole. The Squirrel Buster comes apart by hand; the Absolute II’s roof swings up for cleaning.

References

Sources supporting this guide
SourceUpdated
Squirrel Buster Plus ↗
Squirrel Buster Plus product support ↗
Droll Yankees Yankee Flipper YF-M ↗